skip to content | Accessibility Information

Shortlist revealed for Teaching Awards 2017

Tuesday 4 April, 2017

The highly anticipated shortlist for the Students' Union Teaching Awards has been revealed. This year we have an impressive eleven nominations for our staff and courses at the Cheshire campus, with more than one nomination in a few categories.

The Teaching Awards, now in its seventh year, celebrates excellent teaching at Manchester Met. Every year, students share their stories about the individuals and teams who go out of their way to make their learning experience the best it can be - the people they think deserve to be recognised.

There are ten awards, ranging from Teacher of the Year to Outstanding Innovation in Teaching. This year, new categories include Best Undergraduate Supervisor and Best Postgraduate Supervisor.

The numerous entries were judged anonymously against set criteria by a panel of students, Student Officers and representatives from Manchester Met’s Centre for Excellence in Learning and Teaching.

You can find our Cheshire nominees for each category listed below:

Teacher of the Year
Dr Ben Challis

Department of the Year
Department of Contemporary Arts

Course of the Year
BA (Hons) Creative Writing
BA (Hons) English
BSc (Hons) Exercise and Sport Science

Outstanding Feedback
Dr Pete Dale
Dr Deirdre Duffy

Best Undergraduate Supervisor
Dr Zoe Franklin
Dr Lisa Oakley

Best Postgraduate Supervisor
Dr David Cooper

Outstanding Innovation in Teaching
Dr Ken Parsons

Outstanding Teaching for Sustainability
Tom Finbow

Winners will be announced at the awards ceremony at The Union, Manchester on Tuesday 16 May. For the full shortlist, please visit this website